周围血管病患者对于下肢动脉检查的步骤可以说非常熟悉,躺下来,戴几个测量血压的袖带,测个ABI,几分钟就好了。部分患者存在这样的疑问,ABI检查到底是什么呢?


一、ABI 是什么呢?


ABI,中文名称叫做踝肱指数,也称为踝肱比值。是踝部动脉收缩压和肱动脉收缩压的比值。左侧ABI指的是左侧踝部的收缩压,和双上肢较高的那个收缩压的比值;右侧ABI指的是右侧踝部的收缩压,和双上肢较高的那个收缩压的比值。


图为:多普勒动脉血流波形参数解释

A:峰值血流速度

B:回流血流峰值速度

D:舒张末期血流速度(是血管阻力的重要指标,直观理解为搏动间歇期管腔内的血流速度。一般随血管腔

  直径的减小,D值会逐渐减小,肢体末端小血管甚至为0,即搏动间歇期管腔血流停止。)

Mean:平均血流速度。


举个例子:某患者左侧踝部收缩压为80mmHg,左上肢收缩压为110mmHg,右上肢收缩压为120mmHg,那么该患者的左侧ABI数值应该是0.67,是用左侧踝部是收缩压80,和双上肢较高的那个收缩压,也就是右上肢的收缩压120的比值,即80/120。


二、ABI的数值意义是什么呢?

ABI的正常值是0.9~1.3之间。

ABI>1.3,提示存在动脉壁钙化;

ABI<0.9,提示可能存在动脉缺血,比如动脉狭窄或者闭塞;

ABI<0.5,提示存在严重的动脉狭窄或者闭塞;

ABI<0.3,则提示有严重的下肢肢体缺血,面临截肢风险。


特别注意:

通过基本的问诊和体格检查能够发现一些疑似存在下肢血管病变的糖尿病患者,之后需要进行ABI检查来进一步诊断。 对糖尿病患者,由于有时伴有中小动脉壁的严重钙化,有些患者在测量踝部压力的时候可能会出现加压后动脉不能关闭,从而导致所测的压力增高(假性高压),甚至出现ABI的数值正常,这种情况下,测出的ABI并不能反映真实的病变情况。


三、ABI检查临床意义


当前ABI可作为全身动脉粥样硬化的一项重要的测量指标,与动脉粥样硬化危险因素以及其他血管的CVD患病率紧密相关。ABI降低与许多心血管危险因素有关,包括高血压、糖尿病、血脂异常、吸烟以及一些新型心血管危险因素,如C-反应蛋白直细胞介素-6、同型半胱氨酸和慢性肾病。


一般认为,ABI数值增高或下降0.15可视为疾病好转或加重。比如,治疗前的ABI为0.70,而治疗后的ABI为1.17,提示下肢动脉肢体缺血症状明显改善,治疗后的动脉通畅。


四、ABI检查优势


ABI数值的测量是诊断下肢缺血疾病的一个有效和可靠的方法,并且具有很高的特异性和敏感性,可以用在下肢缺血性疾病的围手术期判断、随访等多个方面运用。再加上此检查无创、快捷,所以已经是下肢动脉体检和临床运用常见的检查之一。


使用多普勒法测定ABI 时的肢体血压测量步骤·       患者应在温度适宜( 19 ~ 22 °C ) 的房间内在放松以及头和脚跟有支撑的情况下,仰卧位休息5~ 10min,患者在ABI测量前至少2 h内不能吸烟。


·       应根据肢体尺寸选择合适的袖带,其宽度至少为被测肢体周长的40%。

袖带不应包裹在肢端血管旁路移植手术(血栓形成风险)或溃疡上。任何有潜在污染风险的开放性创口都应用非渗透性敷料覆盖。患者在压力测量过程中需保持静止。如果患者无法控制其肢体保持静止(如震颤),应考虑其他方法。


·       与测量肱动脉血压类似,在测量踝部血压时,袖带应使用平行缠绕法包裹在踝部附近。袖带下缘应置于内踝上方2cm处,应使用8~10MHz多普勒探头。

探头表面应涂抹超声凝胶,打开多普勒设备后,探头应置于脉搏搏动区域,与皮肤表面成45°~ 60°。应移动探头直到听到最清晰的信号。


·       袖带应逐渐充气直到庄力高出血流信号消失时20mmHg(1mmHg=0.133kPa),然后缓慢放气,以检测血流信号重新出现时的血怍水平。最高充气压力为300 mm Hg;如果此时仍能检测到血流信号,袖带应迅速放气以避免疼痛。


·       在测量手臂血压时,也应使用多普勒探测肱动脉血流。应采用相同顺序测量肢体血压。同一医疗中心的临床医生应使用相同的测量顺序。在测量过程中,在一个测量顺序完成后应对首个测量肢体进行重复测量,取2次结果的平均值以抵消首次测量的白大衣效应,除非首个测星肢体的2次测量值之间相差超过10mm Hg。在这种情况下,应放弃首次测量结果,仅考虑第2 次测星结果。

例如,当采用逆时针顺序进行测量时,即右侧手臂、右侧PT、右侧DP、左侧PT、左侧DP、左侧手臂,在这个测量顺序结束后应重复测量右侧手臂,然后取2次右侧手臂测量结果的平均值,除非2次测量结果相差超过10mm Hg。在这种情况下,仅应考虑第2次右侧手臂测量结果


·       如果需要重复测量四肢压力,测量顺序应与首次测量相反(例如,首次测量采用逆时针顺序,即右侧手臂、右侧PT、右侧DP、左侧PT、左侧DP、左侧手臂、右侧手臂),即应改为顺时针方向以左侧手臂开始和结束测量。ABI:踝肱指数;PT:胫后动脉;DP:足背动脉。

Patients with peripheral vascular disease are very familiar with the procedure of lower extremity artery examination. Lie down, wear several cuff to measure blood pressure, measure ABI, and be ready in a few minutes. Some patients wonder, what exactly is an ABI exam?


1. What is an ABI?

The ABI, or ankle-brachial index, is also known as the ankle-brachial ratio. It's the ratio of the systolic blood pressure of the ankle artery to the systolic blood pressure of the brachial artery. The left ABI refers to the ratio of systolic blood pressure at the left ankle to the systolic blood pressure at the higher end of both upper limbs. The right ABI refers to the ratio of systolic blood pressure at the right ankle to the systolic blood pressure at the higher end of both upper limbs.

The picture shows: doppler artery blood waveform parameters interpretation

A: peak blood flow velocity

B: peak velocity of reflux blood flow

D: blood flow velocity at the end of diastole (an important indicator of vascular resistance, intuitively understood as the blood flow velocity in the lumen during the interval of beating. Usually with the vascular cavity. 

As the diameter decreases, the D value will gradually decrease, and the small blood vessel at the end of the limb will even be 0, which means the blood flow in the lumen stops during the interval of beating.

Mean: Mean blood flow rate.

For example, if the systolic blood pressure of the left ankle is 80mmHg, the systolic blood pressure of the left upper limb is 110mmHg, and the systolic blood pressure of the right upper limb is 120mmHg, then the ABI value of the patient should be 0.67, which means the systolic blood pressure of the left ankle is 80, and the systolic blood pressure of the upper limb is 120, which is the ratio of the systolic blood pressure of the right upper limb, namely 80/120.

2. What is the numerical meaning of ABI?

Normal ABI values are between 0.9 and 1.3.

ABI>1.3, suggesting calcification of artery wall;

ABI<0.9 indicates the possibility of ischemia, such as arterial stenosis or occlusion.

ABI<0.5, indicating severe arterial stenosis or occlusion;

ABI<0.3 indicates severe limb ischemia and the risk of amputation.

Special attention:

Some diabetic patients with suspected lower extremity vascular disease can be detected through basic consultation and physical examination, and ABI examination is required for further diagnosis. Small and medium-sized arteries in patients with diabetes, because sometimes accompanied by severe calcification, some patients may appear when measuring ankle pressure after pressure artery can't shut down, leading to higher measured pressure (pseudo pressure), appear even normal ABI values, in this case, the measure of ABI does not reflect the real lesions.


3. Clinical significance of ABI examination

Currently, ABI can be an important indicator of systemic atherosclerosis, which is closely related to risk factors of atherosclerosis and the prevalence of CVD in other blood vessels. Decreased ABI is associated with many cardiovascular risk factors, including hypertension, diabetes, dyslipidemia, smoking, and novel cardiovascular risk factors, such as c-reactive protein procystin-6, homocysteine, and chronic kidney disease.

Generally, an increase or decrease of 0.15 ABI value can be regarded as an improvement or aggravation of the disease. For example, the ABI before treatment was 0.70, while the ABIafter treatment was 1.17, suggesting that the symptoms of limb ischemia were significantly improved and the arteries were unobstructed after treatment.


4. ABI checking advantage

The measurement of ABI value is an effective and reliable method for the diagnosis of ischemic diseases of lower limbs, and it has a high specificity and sensitivity, which can be used in the perioperative judgment and follow-up of ischemic diseases of lower limbs. In addition, this examination is non-invasive and fast, so it has been one of the common examinations for lower extremity arterial examination and clinical application.


· Patients should rest in the supine position for 5 to 10min in a room with an appropriate temperature (19 to 22 °C) and with head and heels supported, and should not smoke for at least 2 h before the ABI.


· Appropriate cuff should be selected according to the limb size, with a width of at least 40% of the measured limb circumference.

The cuff should not be wrapped around a limb bypass (risk of thrombosis) or ulcer. Any open wound with a potential contamination risk should be covered with a non-permeable dressing. The patient should remain stationary during the pressure measurement. Other methods should be considered if the patient cannot control the limbs to remain stationary (such as tremors).


· Similar to measuring brachial arterial blood pressure, when measuring ankle blood pressure, the cuff should be wrapped around the ankle with parallel winding method. The lower edge of the cuff should be placed 2cm above the medial malleolus and an 8~10MHz doppler probe should be used.

Ultrasonic gel shall be applied on the surface of the probe. When the doppler device is turned on, the probe shall be placed in the pulse pulsing area and be 45°~ 60° from the skin surface. The probe should be moved until the clearest signal is heard.


· The cuff should be gradually inflated until 20mmHg(1mmHg= 0.133kpa) when the blood signal disappears, and then slowly deflated to detect the blood level when the blood signal reappears. The highest inflation pressure is 300 mm Hg; If blood flow signals can still be detected, the cuff should be deflated quickly to avoid pain.


· Doppler should also be used to detect brachial artery blood flow when measuring arm blood pressure. Blood pressure of limbs should be measured in the same order. Clinicians at the same medical center should use the same sequence of measurements. During the measurement process, the first measured limb should be repeated after the completion of a measurement sequence. The average of the 2 results is taken to offset the white coat effect of the first measurement, unless the difference between the 2 measurements of the first measured limb is more than 10mm Hg. In this case, the first measurement results should be abandoned and only the second measurement results should be considered.

For example, when counterclockwise measurements are taken, i.e., right arm, right PT, right DP, left PT, left DP, and left arm, the right arm should be repeated at the end of this measurement sequence, and the average of the 2 measurements taken with the right arm is then taken, unless the 2 measurements differ by more than 10mm Hg. In this case, only the second measurement of the right arm should be considered


· If repeated measurement of limb pressure is required, the order of measurement shall be reversed from the first measurement (for example, the first measurement shall be counterclockwise, i.e., right arm, right PT, right DP, left PT, left DP, left arm, right arm), that is, the measurement shall be changed to a clockwise direction starting and ending with the left arm. ABI: ankle-brachial index; PT: posterior tibial artery; DP: dorsal foot artery.